My spiritual children

I don’t have children of my own, but I do have a Sunday school class.  I might have a child in my class for one Sunday.  Then it might be 4 years before I have another student.  Still others come on an annual basis out of the blue.  No matter how many times I sit with that child, I pray hard that God’s will is done not only in that short amount of time, but through out their lives.

The majority would say I’m boring because it’s not all fun and games and we, gasp, read the bible.  In other programs it’s about the games, the movies, the gossip.  Not in my class because we are not there to play.  We are there to be with God and learn how He blesses us.

Well, there a group of students who are all related except for one.  They are my girls, these are my boys, these are my people.  What I’ve found is that I’m not a fit for the ordinary child who has a mom and a dad living at home.  Where there are rules and a routine and going to church is cool because of the things that don’t have to do with God (yes I know, not all families are like that.  I’m trying to establish a difference).  I’m best with children who are from broken homes, have strained parental relations, not the most popular, the outcast, and just in general have a rough home life.  I draw them close because I can relate, yes I had what I needed physically, but the rest was just hard.  Really, really hard (not open for discussion).

My goal in the class that God has blessed me with, is to plant that mustard seed of strength and courage and love that they can draw on even if we never see each other again.  I “water’ that seed by lifting my children up into God’s love, into His Grace through prayer.  Sure my will tries to take over and He reminds me that the focus is on Him and His relationship with those children.

Message to my spiritual children –

Worship God, lean on Him and His holy love and peace.  Ask me to pray for you.

Worship God, praise Him for the blessings that you receive.  Ask me to pray for you.

Worship God, listen to Him and for Him as He knows His will for you.  Ask me to pray for you.

Worship God, acknowledge what He has accomplished in you.  Ask me to pray for you.

Worship God, love Him as He already loves you no matter what.  Ask me to pray for you.

Worship God and pray for me that I do His will as I can only point you towards Him and be an example for you.

Much love.

 

Leave a comment